Music News

Jon Spencer Blues Explosion to Release First Album in Eight Years

On September 17, the Jon Spencer Blues Explosion are releasing their first studio album in 8 years, Meat and Bone. The 12-song record is a follow up to the bands 2004 critically acclaimed Damage, which was released under the shortened name of Blues Explosion, and is the bands 9th LP.

Meat and Bone was recorded at the Key Club Recording Studio in Benton Harbor, Michigan, and was mixed in the band’s home state of New York. The band, made up of Jon Spencer, Judah Bauer and Russell Simins, has stated, “We Still have that psychic glue that allows us to create music together. Over the course of a year touring and writing new songs and recording, we rediscovered our shared history as a band. We circled the wagons, and went back to our toots. In a way this is almost like another first album.”

“Black Mold”, the first track off of the upcoming album is available to listen to, and if the rest of the September release is anything like it, anticipation will grow daily. 

The Meat And Bone tracklist:

1. Black Mold
2. Bag Of Bones
3. Boot Cut
4. Get Your Pants Off
5. Ice Cream Killer
6. Strange Baby
7. Bottle Baby
8. Danger
9. Black Thoughts
10. Unclear
11. Bear Trap
12. Zimgar

Got something to say?