Music News

Ex-Girls Frontman Christopher Owens Announces Solo Album

Earlier this year, Christopher Owens announced that he was quitting Girls, the band he formed which quickly became one of the most critically acclaimed young bands in recent memory. As shocking as the announcement was, fans were still anxious to hear what Owens will be doing next. After months of speculation, we now have an answer: Owens plans to release his debut solo album, Lysandre, in January of next year.

The album is supposedly based on Owens’ life story over the past few years, following him across the world as he gained success with Girls and fell in love with the album’s namesake. Owens describes the record as “a coming-of-age story, a road trip story, a love story” that “…could easily be mistaken as being about a love affair, but it’s much more than that.” The album is produced by Doug Boehm, who had previously worked with Girls, and several of Owens’ former Girls collaborators are also featured on the album

The tracklist for Lysandre is listed below; you can also hear the first two songs on the album, “Lysandre’s Theme” and “Here We Go,” on Owens’ website

Lysandre tracklist:

 1. Lysandre’s Theme 
2. Here We Go
3. New York City 
4. A Broken Heart 
5. Here We Go Again
6. Riviera Rock 
7. Love Is in the Ear of the Listener
8. Lysandre
9. Everywhere You Knew
10. Closing Theme
11. Part of Me (Lysandre’s Epilogue)

Got something to say?