Music News

Thom Yorke Announces Atoms For Peace Album

Radiohead frontman Thom Yorke has kept himself busy lately with Atoms For Peace, an all-star side project featuring Radiohead producer Nigel Godrich and Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea. The band have toured extensively, playing Coachella, Bonaroo, and other major festivals in 2010; they’ve also played some new material live. However, when asked about recording an album with the band, Yorke kept true to his usual tactics and remained as obtuse as possible on the subject. Now, though, we have some concrete details from the man himself about Amok, the long-awaited album from Atoms for Peace.

In a letter released today, Yorke confirmed that Amok will come out on February 26th on XL Recordings in the U.S. and on February 25th in Great Britain. The album will have 9 tracks, including “Default,” which Yorke debuted at a handful of DJ gigs in New York City earlier this year. More information about the album is available on the band’s new website,

Yorke didn’t say anything about whether or not his work in Atoms For Peace would affect the touring or recording schedule for Radiohead, but he noted that Atoms for Peace is “an ongoing and open-ended project, where it leads i know not for certain…which is what is nice about it.”

Amok tracklist below:

1 Before Your Very Eyes
2 Default
3 Ingenue
4 Dropped
5 Unless
6 Stuck Together Pieces
7 Judge Jury and Executioner
8 Reverse Running
9 Amok

Got something to say?