Music News

Steven Tyler and Joe Perry to be Inducted in Songwriters Hall of Fame

gty_steven_tyler_joe_perry_dm_120924_wgWho can resist singing along to hits like “Walk This Way,” “Sweet Emotion” and “Dream On?” Nobody we know. Which is one of the reasons why Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler and Joe Perry will be inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Tyler and Perry will join Foreigner’s Mick Jones and Lou Gramm, Holly Knight, JD Souther and Tony Hatch in the list of inductees. Jones and Gramm wrote hits like “Jukebox Hero” and “I Wanna Know What Love Is.” Knight is known for writing Pat Benatar’s songs, like “Love Is a Battlefield” and “Invincible.” She also wrote Tina Turner’s “The Best” and “Better Be Good to Me,” in addition to Patty Smyth’s “The Warrior.” Souther’s credits include writing songs like “Heartache Tonight,” “Victim of Love” and “New Kid in Town” for the Eagles. Hatch worked with bands like the Searchers and even worked on a few early David Bowie hits; he also worked with Petula Clark on “Downtown” and “My Love.” The Songwriters Hall of Fame ceremony is set to take place in New York on June 13.

Got something to say?