Music News

Polaris Music Prize Shortlist Announced

Polaris Music Prize 2013Every year, Canada honors their finest musicians with the Polaris Music Prize. This year’s shortlist was announced yesterday, and a good number of great artists are in consideration. Most of the artists named were younger acts, though post-rock legends Godspeed You! Black Emperor snagged a spot on the shortlist with their first album in 12 years: Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!. Also on the shortlist are METZ (a favorite of some of the staff here at Elmore Magazine), Tegan & Sara, Metric, Whitehorse, and Bon Iver collaborator Colin Stetson.

This year’s gala event for the Polaris Music Prize takes place on September 23rd at the Carlu in Toronto. Former Shortlist nominees Kathleen Edwards and Shad will host the evening’s ceremonies. Tickets for the event go on sale on July 22nd at $50 a pop.

Check out the full shortlist of Polaris nominees below:

Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Zaki Ibrahim – Every Opposite
Metric – Synthetica
Purity Ring – Shrines
Colin Stetson – New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Tegan and Sara – Heartthrob
A Tribe Called Red – Nation II Nation
Whitehorse – The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss
Young Galaxy – Ultramarine

Got something to say?