Album Reviews

Melissa Ferrick – The Truth Is (MPress Records)




Release Date:    

Melissa Ferrick The Truth IsThe truth is that Melissa Ferrick has crafted a wondrous album that should bring her the wider recognition that her music deserves. Superbly recorded live in Boston, Ms. Ferrick brought in a cadre of talent to help her bring the 11 tracks into a sharp musical focus and The Truth Is is richly distinct departure from her previous works.   

Natalia Zuckerman, (vocals, lap steel, dobro), Matt Pynn (pedal steel guitar), Richard Gates (bass), Ro Rowan (cello), Steve Scully and Dave Brophy (drums) as well as singers Anne Heaton, Paula Cole and Rose Polenzani blend perfectly  together , which helps the songs flow and ebb effortlessly. The musical result of The Truth Is is a testimony not only to Melissa Ferrick’s production prowess, but also to the engineering skills of Rafi Sofer and the mixing talents of Trini Shoemaker.

The opening track, “Wreck Me,” features Paula Cole on vocals and the lilting pedal steel of Matt Pynn and shows off Melissa Ferrick’s considerable vocal prowess . Belying its’ title,  “Pity Song” is an upbeat ode to new relationship possibilities,  while “Go Easy On Me” has a reggae influenced feel , with a generous helping of captivating double tracked vocals. Natalia Zuckerman’s vocals and skills on the dobro skills add a perfect musical touch to “Love Ain’t Afraid”. 

Not only will The Truth Is be a valuable addition to your music library, it will enhance your well being.

– Howard B. Leibowitz

Got something to say?