Music News

2014 Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Nominees Announced

Nirvana Rock & Roll Hall of Fame
Photo by Anton Corbijn

Rolling Stone has announced the preliminary list of nominees for this year’s Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Groups on the list this year include Nirvana, The Replacements, Paul Butterfield Blues Band, Hall & Oates, KISS, Deep Purple, Peter Gabriel, Link Wray, Linda Ronstadt, Yes, Cat Stevens, and The Zombies. As with last year, fans can vote on who they want to see in the Rock Hall on Rolling Stone‘s website.

Nirvana top the list of this year’s entrants as the only group this time around to be nominated in their first year of eligibility; their first single, a cover of “Love Buzz” by Shocking Blue, was released in 1988. This also marks the first year that the Replacements, Hall & Oates, Yes, The Zombies, and Peter Gabriel, though Gabriel was inducted in 2009 as a member of Genesis.

The winners will be inducted in a ceremony/concert in April likely to feature a few reunions should certain bands get in. Yes bassist Chris Squire is already excited at the possibility of his band getting in, telling Rolling Stone that “it would be magnificent if they would include every member of Yes – I think there are 19 or 20 of us.”

To vote on the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame ballot, click here. Visit our Facebook page to tell us who you think should go into the Rock Hall this year.


Got something to say?