Music News

Black Flag Announce First New Album in 28 Years

black-flag-what-theGreg Ginn’s Black Flag will be releasing a new album called What The…, the first Black Flag album since 1985’s In My Head. This band—which currently features Ginn, vocalist Ron Reyes, bassist Dave Klein and drummer Gregory Moore—has released the cover art and tracklist.

If you’re having problems keeping track of which Black Flag band is which, you’re not the only one, because there’s also FLAG, a Black Flag reunion group that features Keith Morris, Chuck Dukowski, Dez Cadena, Bill Stevenson and the Descendents guitarist Stephen Egerton. FLAG recently wrapped up a North American tour.

There’s also plenty of controversy among former Black Flag members regarding the Black Flag trademark. In August, Ginn had sued FLAG and former Black Flag frontman Henry Rollins (who we feature in the November/December issue of Elmore, out in stores soon), claiming they had filed “fraudulent” applications to trademark the Black Flag name and logo. However, a motion for preliminary injunction has been decided in favor of FLAG and Rollins.

Ginn’s Black Flag’s What The… is due for release on Nov. 5. You can check out the tracklist below.

1) My Heart’s Pumping

2) Down in the Dirt
3) Blood and Ashes
4) Now Is the Time

5) Wallow in Despair
6) Slow Your Ass Down
7) It’s so Absurd

8) Shut Up
9) This Is Hell

10) Go Away

11) The Bitter End
12) The Chase
13) I’m Sick
14) It’s Not My Time to Go-Go
15) Lies

16) Get Out of My Way
17) Outside
18) No Teeth
19) To Hell and Back

20) Give Me All Your Dough
21) You Gotta Be Joking
22) Off My Shoulders

Got something to say?