Music News

Black Lips Announce New Album

Black Lips new albumHard-partying Atlanta garage-rockers The Black Lips are coming back with a new album. Titled Underneath The Rainbow, the album is due out on March 18th through Vice Records.

Underneath The Rainbow marks a conscious departure for the band, who previously explored a poppier sound on 2011’s Arabia Mountain. In an interview with Rolling Stone, bassist/singer Jared Swilley said that the new record deliberately moves away from Arabia Mountain‘s aesthetic and towards a sound more informed by roots and country music. “Our main influences are pretty traditional,” Swilley said. “It’s roots music.”

To get a more rootsy sound, the band relocated to Nashville for some of the recording and brought in The Black Keys’ Patrick Carney to serve as a producer. The band’s songs also have a more honest bent this time around, drawing from experiences in Swilley’s life ranging from his childhood in Atlanta to his brief stint in prison last year.

Check out the tracklist for Underneath The Rainbow below:

1. “Drive By Buddy”
2. “Smiling”
3. “Make You Mine”
4. “Funny”
5. “Dorner Party”
6. “Justice After All”
7. “Boys in the Wood”
8. “Waiting”
9. “Do the Vibrate”
10. “I Don’t Wanna Go Home”
11. “Dandelion Dust”
12. “Dog Years”

Got something to say?