Music News

Leon Russell Returns With New Album

Leon Russell Life JourneyLegendary singer/pianist Leon Russell is back with a brand new album. Titled Life Journey, the album is due out on April 1st.

Russell’s long, storied career has lasted over five decades, but the singer’s career saw a recent upswing with the release of The Union, the 2010 album that found Russell collaborating with Elton John. The recent wave of positive exposure led Russell to consider recording what he calls “a musical journey through my life.” “It reflects pieces of things I’ve done and things I never did, for one reason or another,” Russell says of the album.

Working with longtime friend Tommy LiPuma (Miles Davis, Paul McCartney) behind the boards, Russell chose to honor many of the songwriters that have inspired him, from Hoagy Carmichael and Stuart Gorrell (“Georgia On My Mind”) to Duke Ellington (“I Got It Bad & That Ain’t Good”) and even Paul Anka (“I Really Miss You”) and Billy Joel (“New York State Of Mind”). Russell also contributed two originals to the album: “Big Lips” and “Down In Dixieland.”

Life Journey comes out on April 1st (one day before Russell’s 72nd birthday) on Universal Music. Check out a full tracklist below: 

1.  Come On In My Kitchen

2.  Big Lips

3.  Georgia On My Mind

4.  That Lucky Old Sun

5.  Fever

6.  Think Of Me

7.  I Got It Bad & That Ain’t Good

8.  The Masquerade Is Over

9.  I Really Miss You

10. New York State Of Mind

11. Fool’s Paradise

12. Down In Dixieland


Got something to say?