Music News

Neil Young Releases New Album ‘A Letter Home’

Well, that was quick. Neil Young’s new album, which has been shrouded in mystery since its announcement, came out this weekend for Record Store Day. The album, titled A Letter Home, was made available to brick-and-mortar stores as well as on the Third Man Records website.

Now that the album’s out, we know more about what Young was doing on the record; namely, we now know that A Letter Home is a covers album, as journalist Michael Goldberg alluded to in his initial report behind the album. Included on the album are Young’s versions of songs by Phil Ochs, Bert Jansch, and Bob Dylan to Willie Nelson, Gordon Lightfoot, and Bruce Springsteen. The album was recorded in Jack White’s Voice-O-Graph machine, a refurbished recording booth from the 1940s that cuts and presses records immediately after they are performed. A few of them, such as Dylan’s “Girl From The North Country” and Lightfoot’s “Early Morning Rain,” have been performed by Young in concert for some time.

Check out the tracklist for A Letter Home below:

1. “Changes” (Phil Ochs)
2. “Girl From The North Country” (Bob Dylan)
3. “Needle of Death” (Bert Jansch)
4. “Early Morning Rain” (Gordon Lightfoot)
5. “Crazy” (Willie Nelson)
6. “Reason To Believe” (Tim Hardin)
7. “On The Road Again” (Willie Nelson)
8. “If You Could Read My Mind” (Gordon Lightfoot)
9. “Since I Met You Baby” (Ivory Joe Hunter)
10. “My Hometown” (Bruce Springsteen)
11. “I Wonder If I Care As Much” (Everly Brothers)

Got something to say?