Music News

Beck To Release All-Star Recording Of ‘Song Reader’ Album

Beck Song ReaderTwo years ago, Beck released Song Reader, a collection of twenty songs that existed only as printed sheet music. While Beck then performed the album in a series of shows and encouraged his fans to make their own versions of his songs, no actual recorded version of Song Reader exists. Now, it seems the wait is over; Song Reader will see an official recorded release on July 29th, but Beck is just one of the many artists on the album.

The album, officially titled Warby Parker Presents Song Reader, features several other artists alongside the eccentric composer of the album, including Norah Jones, Jeff Tweedy, Fun., Jarvis Cocker, Jack White, Jason Isbell, David Johansen, and Loudon Wainwright III, among others. Comedian and part-time musician Jack Black is also slated to appear on the album.

“It amazes me to hear how these musicians have made the songs their own and in the process revealed that the interpretation is the living, breathing soul of the piece,” Beck said about the album. “These interpretations have made the book something new–something better.”

Warby Parker Presents Song Reader tracklist:

1. Moses Sumney: “Title of this Song”
2. Fun.: “Please Leave A Light On When You Go”
3. Tweedy: “The Wolf is on the Hill”
4. Norah Jones: “Just Noise”
5. Lord Huron: “Last Night You Were A Dream”
6. Bob Forrest: “Saint Dude”
7. Jack White: “I’m Down”
8. Beck: “Heaven’s Ladder”
9. Juanes: “Don’t Act Like Your Heart Isn’t Hard”
10. Laura Marling: “Sorry”
11. Jarvis Cocker: “Eyes That Say ‘I Love You'”
12. David Johansen: “Rough On Rats”
13. Jason Isbell: “Now That Your Dollar Bills Have Sprouted Wings”
14. The Last Polka: “Marc Ribot”
15. Eleanor Friedberger: “Old Shanghai”
16. Sparks: “Why Did You Make Me Care?”
17. Swamp Dogg: “America, Here’s My Boy”
18. Jack Black: “We All Wear Cloaks”
19. Loudon Wainwright III: “Do We? We Do”
20. Gabriel Kahane with Ymusic: “Mutilation Rag”

Got something to say?