Music News

Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters Debut New Live Video and Announce 2014 Tour

Photo Credit: Frank Melfi
Credit: Frank Melfi

Robert Plant and the Sensational Space Shifters have just announced the details of their 2014 tour, kicking off in Portchester, NY on September 25. The tour comes in support of Plant’s upcoming album, lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar, which is due for release September 9 on Nonesuch/Warner Bros. Records. Produced by Plant himself, the album will feature 11 new recordings (nine originals).

The new album will also serve as the studio debut of the Sensational Space Shifters as Plant’s backing band. With a wide range of musical backgrounds, the band ably explore genres and sounds beyond rock and folk. Guitarist Justin Adams, who has produced Tuareg group, Tinariwen, brings world-music savvy. Keyboardist John Baggott and bassist Billy Fuller helped create the Bristol Sound with Massive Attack and Portishead. Drummer Dave Smith is a part of Loop Collective, specializing in jazz and electronic music, with Gambian multi-instrumentalist Camara serving as second percussionist.

“Rainbow,” the first taste of the new album, premiered in June. The song feels like an instant classic, with Plant’s voice providing elegant folk narration behind a unique range of instruments and a reverberating beat. Today, Plant and company released a live performance video of “Rainbow”, along with their tour dates. See below for the video where and the list of U.S. tour dates. For more information and to pre-order the album, visit Plant’s website.

Robert Plant and the Sensational Shape Shifters’ North American Tour Dates:

25 – Port Chester, NY – Capitol Theater
27 – Brooklyn, NY – BAM
28 – Brooklyn, NY – BAM
30 – Toronto, ONT – Massey Hall

2 – Chicago, IL – Riviera Theatre
4 – Denver, CO – The Fillmore Auditorium
7 – Los Angeles, CA – Hollywood Palladium

Got something to say?