Music News

Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield To Release Elliott Smith Tribute

Elliott Smith has become one of the most beloved songwriters of his generation, and his reputation has only increased since his tragic death in 2003. Now, the duo of Seth Avett (of Avett Brothers fame) and Jessica Lea Mayfield are going to pay tribute to Smith with a 12-song record that features the pair covering some of Smith’s finest songs. The album, titled Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith, comes out on Ramseur Records on March 17th.

Avett and Mayfield recorded the album over the course of several months, taking time to record together whenever they could. In a promotional video for the album, Avett described the motivations behind the project: “I think, for Jessica and I, it’s just a question of loving the songs. It came so naturally, there was nothing insincere about it.”

Check out the tracklist for Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith and watch the promotional trailer below.

Seth Avett & Jessica Lea Mayfield Sing Elliott Smith

1. Between the Bars
2. Baby Britain
3. Fond Farewell
4. Somebody That I Used to Know
5. Let’s Get Lost
6. Twilight
7. Ballad of Big Nothing
8. Angel in the snow
9. Pitseleh
10. Angeles
11. Roman Candle
12. Memory Lane


Got something to say?

One Response