Music News

The Coasters Celebrate 60th Anniversary, Release First New Album In 35 Years

The CoastersThe Coasters, the legendary doo-wop responsible for such hits as “Yakety Yak” and “Searchin’,” are preparing to celebrate their 60th anniversary by releasing their first album of new recordings in 35 years. The album, titled Magical Favorites, will feature covers of classic rock ‘n’ roll and R&B hits such as “(Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay,” “Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)” and  “Don’t Be Cruel.”

The Coasters, known as the Clown Princes of Rock ‘n’ Roll for their many humorous songs, were one of the classic vocal acts of the doo-wop era. Beginning in the late 1950s and streching into the next decade, they had a string of hit songs, usually written by the classic songwriting duo of Leiber and Stoller. Although the original members have all passed away, the current incarnation of the group follows the legacy of Coasters founder Carl Gardener.

Magical Favorites will be released on Goldlane Records on March 31. Check out the full tracklisting below:

Track List:
1. All I Have To Do Is Dream
2. Cool Jerk
3. Don’t Be Cruel
4. If I Had A Hammer
5. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
6. Bad, Bad Leroy Brown
7. Lyin’ Eyes
8. Shout
9. (Sittin’ On) The Dock Of The Bay
10. Turn Back The Hands Of Time
11. You Send Me
12. Twistin’ The Night Away
13. Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love Babe
14. Dream Baby (How Long Must I Dream)

Got something to say?