Album Reviews

Ian Moore and the Lossy Coils – El Sonido Nuevo




Release Date:    

Ian Moore and the Lossy Coils
El Sonido Nuevo

(Spark & Shine)

On Ian Moore’s El Sonido Nuevo, the hooks come as fast as you can take ’em in. Through a two-decade career that’s seen the singer/guitarist go from cutting his teeth with Joe Ely to forging his own Texas guitar-slinger persona, Moore has welcomed a sustained evolution. The new disc cements this journey with some of the most melodically masterful songwriting sparkle he’s ever crafted and musicianship equally as articulate.

Moore’s Lossy Coils (bassist Matt Harris and Kyle Schneider on drums) spank the Adult Album Alternative format with smatterings of Merseybeat and roadhouse twang, while maintaining a decidedly power-pop backbone. Prime cuts include “Secondhand Store,” where Moore fires off one of the best riffs to fall out of Dave Davies’ back pocket circa 1965, and the wistful, ambient rocker “Birds Of Prey,” complete with Brian Wilson-esque vocal sensibility. “Hillary Step” is hypnotic and ultra-catchy, swirling to a crescendo of spaced-out guitar runs, the likes of which Neil Young would be proud.

With a nod to layered vocal posh and surreal production value, propelled by a burning, bar band hunger, Moore has never flexed his resolute pop muscle harder.

—Mark Uricheck

Got something to say?