Music News

Miranda Lambert and Luke Bryan Win at ACM Awards

miranda-lambert-48th-annual-acm-awards-press-room-01Yesterday, the 48th annual Academy of Country Music Awards kicked off in Las Vegas. The big winner for the night was Luke Bryan, who beat out Jason Aldean, Miranda Lambert, Blake Shelton and Taylor Swift to snag the Entertainer of the Year award. Lambert also won an impressive four awards, including Female Vocalist of the Year (her fourth consecutive win for the title) and Song of the Year for “Over You.”

“Having your songs and your lyrics be recognized by your peers is pretty much as good as it gets,” Lambert said. “Thank you for accepting me as a songwriter, not just a singer-performer, because that means the world to me.”

Jason Aldean beat out Luke Bryan, Eric Church, Toby Keith and Blake Shelton for Male Vocalist of the Year, Brantley Gilbert won out on New Male Vocalist of the Year, Jana Kramer won New Female Vocalist of the Year and Little Big Town won out over Lady Antebellum, The Band Perry Eli Young Band and the Zac Brown Band for Vocal Group of the Year. Eric Church also won an Album of the Year award for his breakthrough album, Chief.

Brian Paisley hit the stage wth Hayes and Dierks Bentley, and Keith Urban gave a memorable solo during a performance with Tim McGraw and Taylor Smith for McGraw’s “Highway Don’t Care.” The night also featured a tribute to late ACM producer Dick Clark. During the tribute performance, Garth Brooks and George Straight teamed up to sing half of Brooks’ “The Dance” and Strait’s “The Cowboy Rides Away.” The legendary Stevie Wonder also took the stage with Hunter Hayes for a rendition of “Sir Duke.” Later in the night, Bryan and Shelton teamed up with Wonder to close the show with 1970’s “Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours.” For a full list of winners, check out the ACM website

Got something to say?