Music News

New Jackson 5 Collection Coming in September

You don’t know Motown until you know the sugary-sweet pop, synchronized swivels, perfectly sculpted afros and equally flawless harmonies of the Jackson Five. Forming what was essentially the R&B/pop pantheon of the 70s, Jackie, Tito, Jermaine, Marlon and Michael undoubtedly changed the worlds of music and coordinating fashion forever. Now you can relive the Jacksonmania with the new two-disc, 32 track collection. Produced by Deke Richards, the collection features songs such as “If the Shoe Don’t Fit” and “Would Ya Would Ya Baby,” as well as covers of songs by fellow Motown favorites the Temptations and the Supremes. “Motown maintained a level of quality that remains unparalleled,” said Bruce Resnikoff, President and CEO of UMe, “There’s something in this set for every fan, from their bubblegum-pop beginnings to their more mature years.” J5 fans can also enjoy three bonus tracks, which include Deke Richards’ original, unedited “That’s How Love Is,” Richards’ original mix for “If I Have to Move a Mountain,” and previously unheard demo, “Mama’s Pearl.” The seven-inch boxed set will also be packed with rare photos, essays, and a 45-rpm, seven-inch vinyl single. The album will be available digitally on August 28 in commemoration of Michael Jackson’s birthday.


Disc 1

1.   (We’re The) Music Makers

2.   If The Shoe Don’t Fit

3.   Come And Get It (Love’s On The Fire)

4.   I Got A Sure Thing

5.   After You Leave Girl

6.   Mama Told Me Not To Come

7.   Iddinit

8.   Since I Lost My Baby

9.   Keep An Eye

10. Movin’

11. Feelin’ Alright studio version

12. You Better Watch Out

13. I’m Your Sunny One (He’s My Sunny Boy)

14. Someone’s Standing In My Love Light


Disc 2

1.   If You Want Heaven

2.   You Can’t Hurry Love

3.   Keep Off The Grass

4.   Going My Way

5.   Makin’ Life A Little Easier For You

6.   Up On The Roof

7.   If I Can’t Nobody Can

8.   Our Love

9.   I Can’t Get Enough Of You

10. Cupid

11. Let’s Go Back To Day One

12. Would Ya Would Ya Baby

13. Love Trip

14. Label Me Love

15. Jumbo Sam


Bonus Tracks

16. That’s How Love Is original complete version

17. If I Have To Move A Mountain original complete version

18. Mama’s Pearl demo (“Guess Who’s Making Whoopee”)

Got something to say?