Music News

The Who To Release First New Song In Eight Years

The Who Hits 50!The Who will be celebrating their 50th anniversary soon, and they’re already preparing the festivities with a tour set to kick off in October. Now, the band have announced the release of a new, career-spanning compilation, The Who Hits 50!, and the comp contains the first piece of new material that Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend have recorded together in eight years.

The recording in question is a song, “Be Lucky,” which is already being described as “a classic Who rocker.” Produced by Dave Eringa, who worked on Daltrey’s collaborative album with Wilko Johnson, the song features longtime Who collaborators Zak Starkey and Pino Palladino on drums and bass, respectively, and it also features former Style Council sideman Mick Talbot on keyboards. Proceeds from the sales of the single will go to benefit the Teen Cancer America charity set up by Daltrey and Townshend.

The Who Hits 50! comes out on October 28th.

The Who Hits 50! tracklist:

Disc 1

1. The High Numbers – “Zoot Suit”
2. “I Can’t Explain”
3. “Anyway Anyhow Anywhere”
4. “My Generation”
5. “Substitute”
6. “The Kids Are Alright”
7. “I’m A Boy”
8. “Happy Jack”
9. “Boris The Spider”
10. “Pictures Of Lily”
11. “The Last Time”
12. “I Can See For Miles”
13. “Call Me Lightning”
14. “Dogs”
15. “Magic Bus”
16. “Pinball Wizard”
17. “I’m Free”
18. “The Seeker”
19. “Summertime Blues (live)”
20. “See Me, Feel Me”
21. “Won’t Get Fooled Again (single edit)”
22. “Let’s See Action”
23. “Bargain”
24. “Behind Blue Eyes”

Disc 2

1. “Baba O’ Riley”
2. “Join Together”
3. “Relay”
4. “5:15”
5. “Love Reign O’er Me”
6. “Postcard”
7. “Squeeze Box”
8. “Slip Kid”
9. “Who Are You”
10. “Trick Of The Light”
11. “You Better You Bet”
12. “Don’t Let The Coat”
13. “Athena”
14. “Eminence Front”
15. “It’s Hard”
16. “Real Good Looking Boy”
17. “It’s Not Enough”
18. “Be Lucky”

Got something to say?