Music News

Yusuf Islam (aka Cat Stevens) To Record His First New Album In 35 Years

Cat Stevens new albumSince Yusuf Islam–the artist formerly known as Cat Stevens–returned to performing, he’s made a slow-yet-steady return to life as a singer/songwriter. Now, the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member seems to be back for good with the announcement that he’ll be releasing his first album in 35 years. The album, titled Tell ‘Em I’m Gone, comes out on October 27th.

According to an interview Yusuf gave in Rolling Stone, the new album will feature a different side of him, one that’s a little groovier and bluesier. “Hidden in the background behind my renowned troubadour persona was an R&B alter-self waiting to be let free,” he said. Yusuf also enlisted an all-star cast of collaborators, including Richard Thompson, Charlie Musselwhite, Matt Sweeney, and Bonnie “Prince” Billy, among others. You can listen to the first song from the album, a cover of Edgar Winter’s “Dying To Live,” here.

Check out the full tracklist for Tell ‘Em I’m Gone below:

1. “I Was Raised in Babylon”
2. “Big Boss Man”
3. “Dying to Live”
4. “You Are My Sunshine”
5. “Editing Floor Blues”
6. “Cat and the Dog Trap”
7. “Gold Digger”
8. “The Devil Came From Kansas”
9. “Tell ‘Em I’m Gone”
10. “Doors”

Got something to say?